What is SSIP?

SSIP accreditation

SSIP stands for Safety Schemes in Procurement and is an umbrella scheme, under which sit multiple health and safety schemes. Accreditation can be a prerequisite, particularly in the construction industry, before suppliers are allowed to tender. Utilising suppliers with SSIP accreditation in place also helps buyers and procurement managers meet their CDM 2015 requirements.

Which schemes does it cover?

The most popular health and safety schemes that sit under the umbrella include:

  • Acclaim
  • Altius VA
  • APS Corporate Membership
  • ARB Approved Contractor
  • Avetta (Formerly PICS Auditing)
  • BESA H&S Assessment
  • BCSA
  • CHAS
  • CQMS Safety-Scheme
  • DW H&S
  • Eurosafe CDM Competent
  • Exor H&S Qualified
  • Greenlight
  • HSAS
  • Laing O’Rourke
  • MSL Safepartner
  • NAS
  • NHBC
  • Safemark Principal Safety (PASS)
  • Safe-T-Cert
  • Safecontractor
  • SMAS
  • Worksafe

What are the benefits of SSIP accreditation?

As well as sometimes being a prerequisite for tendering, suppliers holding SSIP accreditation are often seen as more credible than those without. As it is as umbrella scheme suppliers are only required to be accredited by one SSIP scheme rather than having to apply for and hold multiple certificates. 

Need help becoming accredited? 

The SSIP accreditation process can be lengthy and complicated. Our consultants are highly experienced in all accreditation schemes and can guide you through the process from application to accreditation attainment. Please CONTACT US today to discuss your requirements.  

Share this article